Happy Birthday Pete

Today is my husband’s birthday…

Is it truly possible to love someone more every day? I hadn’t thought so.  Not meaning you love them any less, just where you reach a pretty “stable” and comfortable level!

But this past month has shown me that you can totally fall in love with someone again in the most chaotic and frightening circumstances.

I have seen such a different side to my gentle, sensitive, capable husband. I have witnessed such bravery, such strength of character, such compassion, selflessness, patience and fierce protectiveness.

He has watched dressing changes when I couldn’t even look at the wounds.  He has smiled, encouraged and positively glowed when he told me how well it was all healing. I have searched his face for any sign of revulsion, pity, horror and seen only gentle acceptance.

He has shaved my legs, washed me from head to toe, washed my hair and even straightened it!  He has cleaned wounds and help me have my first shower.  He has done so all with confidence, kindness, gentleness and with a sense of humour – even when I’ve known he was as scared as I was.

Today he showed up again, on his 33rd birthday, and held my hand in the Oncologist’s room when they told us that our journey was far from over

How can I not be brave and not have the strength I need for the next 6 months, the next year or ten, when he has had enough for us both this past month?

How can I doubt our future can be anything but remarkable?

“Grow old along with me, the best is yet to come”. Robert Browning

“Love is Friendship that has caught fire.  It is quiet understanding, mutual confidence,  sharing and forgiving.  It is loyalty through good and bad times.  It settles for less than perfection and makes allowances for human weakness.  Ann Landers

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Pete

  1. Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls. The most massive characters are seared with scars. Anon

    Hardships often prepare ordinary people for an extraordinary destiny. CS Lewis

    Like

  2. I too have a lump in my throat! Much love and strength to you both!

    “Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”
    ― Lao Tzu

    Like

  3. “the most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen” {Elizabeth Kubler-Ross}

    Love to you both…. you are both very special xx

    Like

  4. For you, Pete:

    “I, with a deeper instinct, choose a man who compels my strength, who makes enormous demands on me, who does not doubt my courage or my toughness, who does not believe me naïve or innocent, who has the courage to treat me like a woman.”
    ― Anaïs Nin

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

