Graduation

Last night I graduated.

I’m getting a little ahead of myself here. Something about me you may not already know: I LOVE percale sheets, I know that makes me sound like a snob, but let’s just put it this way, I am not a morning person and I love my bed!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE my percale sheets, I love the feel of them, the way they make you feel like you are sleeping in a fancy hotel every night, pure luxury… cool, crisp and soooo soft! What they are not, as we discovered on the first day I got out of hospital, is able to keep you lying upright in bed!

Not being able to use my arms to push myself up or down I found that I although I was able to get into bed (not quite as graciously as I was accustomed to), I was unable to stop myself from sliding down, mostly due to the lack of friction of my beloved 300 thread count cotton sheets! I ended up being rather awkwardly propped up with my head at a 90 degree angle!

My brilliant, problem solving husband came up with the solution. Not one to willingly give up his percale sheets either, he woke up during the night and had a Eureka moment!

Unbeknown to me, I got up the next morning for my bathroom break and came back to a very different looking bed. My beautiful, white percale sheets were marred by a strip of black rubber webbing and there was Pete, proud as punch with himself and his ingenuity. He had taken the special anti-slip lining from his car boot, cut a square out of it and placed it where I would lie. He figured if it could stop boxes, grocery bags, tools etc sliding around the boot then it would be good enough to stop his wife slide down the bed!

Slightly apprehensive and rather skeptical, I got into bed. I mean, how do you crush a man’s spirit after a midnight revelation! Surprisingly it totally worked! I was able to sit up in bed propped up by my pillows and my anti-skid mat rather successfully. It was amazing, I was able to read, eat and drink practically sitting up! The downside came a half an hour later. I blame it on Sir Isaac Newton and one of his lesser knows theories on gravity. … The rubber webbing obviously created enough of a friction surface between the percale sheet and my PJ’s, unfortunately what it didn’t take into consideration was that my body (due to my heavy bones!) was still subjected to gravity. So technically speaking…my PJ’s stuck to the webbing but my panties and my body were still moving south, resulting in a wedgie of note!

BUT being the fearless inventor of the anti-skid mat and not willing to give up his cunning plan, Pete started another evening ritual. Panty patrol – I won’t give you any of the gory details!

So yesterday after the physio, my exercises and my healing arm, I was able to sleep for the first time in 4 weeks flat on my back without being propped up by a million pillows. My anti-skid mat was no longer needed.

So goodbye to mesh marks on my bottom and goodbye and good riddance to wedgies!

Another milestone has been reached!

“Sooner or later we all discover that the important moments in life are not the advertised ones, not the birthdays, the graduations, the weddings, not the great goals achieved. The real milestones are less prepossessing. They come to the door of memory unannounced, stray dogs that amble in, sniff around a bit and simply never leave Our lives are measured by these.” Susan B. Anthony

“Poems in a way are spells against death. They are milestones, to see where you were then from where you are now. To perpetuate your feelings , to establish them. If you have in any way touched the central heart of mankind’s feelings, you’ll survive”. Richard Emberhart

I’m very pleased with each advancing year. It stems back to when I was forty. I was a bit upset about reaching that milestone, but an older friend consoled me. Don’t complain about growing old – many, many people do not have that privilege”. Earl Warren

16 thoughts on “Graduation

  1. Eureka moments don’t come to me often… Glad this one did, and that it made you more comfortable. I’ll miss the black rubber strip of webbing but I’m so glad you’re getting stronger.
    I could control that, now that you’re getting strong, I want to pad you in pillows, so that I can keep you safe and protect you from the rest of this journey… Sadly I can’t, all I can do is walk next to you, hold your hand and let you lean on me

    “Sometimes the smallest step in the right direction, ends up being the biggest step of your life. Tip toe if you must, but take the step” – Anon –

    Each graduation is a step, and we will celebrate each one, no matter how small.
    xxx

    Like

  2. Janine you are truly amazing.

    Your blog entries have been so heartful and honest. I remember how good you were at writing at school and this has clearly not changed. Thank you for sharing your journey and I prayer that although the next few months will not be pleasant that you will continue to share your story.

    Cancer is a beast that preys on the innocent but a positive mind and outlook have long been it’s enemy.

    You are in my thoughts.
    Tanya

    Like

  3. While he may not have had mesh marks on his buttocks…I think he puts it well-
    There is a certain relief in change, even though it be from bad to worse! As I have often found in traveling in a stagecoach, that it is often a comfort to shift one’s position, and be bruised in a new place. -Washington Irving

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Reading this post and “Dr Dent” I couldn’t help laughing even through the seriousness of the situation.
    So glad to see your sense of humour shining through. I know there will be days that this is not the case but thanks for humouring me and bringing a smile to my face today 🙂

    I never would have made it if I could not have laughed. It lifted me momentarily out of this horrible situation, just enough to make it livable. — Viktor Frankl

    From there to here, from here to there, funny things are everywhere. — Dr. Seuss

    Cancer is probably the most unfunny thing in the world, but I’m a comedian, and even cancer couldn’t stop me from seeing the humour in what I went through. — Gilda Radner

    Through humour, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers. And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation might be, you can survive it.” – Bill Cosby

    Like

  5. Janine, thanks so much for sharing your blog with us. Really had a good laugh at the vision of you and ‘your wedgie’ ha ha. Well done Peter on finding a solution to ‘the problem’

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dearest janine,
    I know we only met in March when I visited with Lisa and Roger but I do hold you and Pete in the highest regard. Your hospitality knew no limits and you made me feel so very welcome. I’m so taken back with your true grit and determination with this card you have been delt. with your most amazing outlook on life and fantastic family and friends you will beat this. I wish you all the best with the next treatments and have you in my prayers daily.
    You are stronger than you can imagine and this will be so with each day forward.
    Lots of love me and Edward xxxx (UK Massif)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My special friend, you are honestly an amazing women. Pete you are so special and the most supportive person.
    Do not be afraid of tomorrow; for God is already there.
    You dont have to feel your way through the darkness, we all have your hand.
    lots of love to you both

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thanks for all the support Sue! Gosh I feel like I have known you forever! You are always welcome to stay with us on your way to Madagascar, bring Ed! ×××

    Like

  9. Janine,

    Reading these special messages from your loved ones humbles me and brings a tear to my eye. You are clearly special to everyone who knows please know I am doing my bit to support you and Pete in this journey. You are not alone.
    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

