The day after the night before

Well there I was at home after my first chemo, feeling pretty good and proud of myself for feeling so good – with the next 6 months not looking as daunting as before.  I took full advantage of the cool, rainy weather and certainly not one to pass up the opportunity to be told to throw on her PJ’s and head back to bed!  I posted my bog, watched some TV, read (ok, so maybe played some “Candy Crush, which I am now totally hooked on, thanks to Isabella, my little grade 4 friend!).  Wendy popped in for tea; I was feeling a little tired, but all good until a bit later in the afternoon… 

 

 I suddenly developed what I can only describe as the worst hangover in the history of hangovers (not talking from my own misspent youth or anything).  My head started to feel fuzzy, my eyes felt as though they were popping out of my head, I had a pounding headache and the most debilitating nausea.  So I popped my meds, drank water by the gallon,  ok so maybe it was only a few sips, but it felt like a whole lot more going down!  And lay on my soft and usually soothing percale sheets willing myself to feeling better…it never happened. 

 

Somewhere in between drawing up my will and bequeathing all my earthly possessions (Pete will tell you that I become a trifle dramatic when I’m ill!), I fell asleep.  I wouldn’t quite describe it as the most restful sleep I have ever had, but it allowed me some respite from my aching body and exhausted spirit.

 

This morning I feel like I may have more time before I need to hand over my possessions. I took my anti-nausea meds the minute I opened my eyes, managed a slice of toast and tea. So things are looking decidedly better as I face the day and am relieved that  I have 3 weeks for my body and mind to recover until my next treatment. 

 

 Today will be a good day!

 

“Illness is the doctor to whom we pay most heed; to kindness, to knowledge we make promise only; pain we obey.” Marcel Proust

 

“If you treat a sick child like an adult and an adult like a sick child, everything usually works out pretty well”. Ruth Carlisle

 

“Get well cards have become so humorous that if you are not getting sick you’re missing half the fun”. Flip Wilson

2 thoughts on “The day after the night before

  1. “Being brave is when you have to do something because you know it is right, but at the same time, you are afraid to do it, because it might hurt or whatever. But you do it anyway.”
    ― Meg Cabot, All-American Girl

    You are so brave, I have no other words..

    Love you xxx

    Like

  2. For the bravest girl I know, who exudes grace and courage simultaneously:

    “Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow’”

    ― Mary Anne Radmacher

    Bravery is being the only one who knows you’re afraid.
    Franklin P. Jones

    In fact, my courage and my bravery at a young age was the thing I was bullied for, a kind of ‘Who do you think you are?’
    Lady Gaga

    But then there are magical, beautiful things in the world. There’s incredible acts of kindness and bravery, and in the most unlikely places, and it gives you hope.
    Dave Matthews

    I don’t think that bravery is about skin. Bravery is about a willingness to show emotional need.
    Richard Gere

    Bravery is believing in yourself, and that thing nobody can teach you.
    El Cordobes

    Like

Leave a Reply

