My Super She-roes

Lee-Anne, Anita and Wendy

Lee-Anne, Anita and Wendy

October 20th, 2013

It’s Sunday evening, 3 days post treatment and I still feel the effects of my chemo hangover! But today I don’t want to chat about treatments or surgery, today I would like to acknowledge some amazing Super She-roes! Not those super human beings with unearthly super powers but real humans who have gone beyond the limits of their own comfort to support me and others just like me.

 

Today my friends Wendy, Anita, Gerry and Lee-Anne completed the Long walk, 37km from Nottingham Road to Howick, all in aid of Breast cancer.  These are ordinary people who have busy lives, children to look after, lessons to prep, households to run. Not ultra marathon types with times to beat or an event to qualify for, just friends taking time away from their own families, doing something they never ever envisioned simply for a cause close to their hearts.

 

For my sister, who also cut her hair short last week so I wouldn’t feel alone (we had secretly been having a hair growing competition!) when mine had to come off.  She made arrangements for our hair to be donated to CANSA to hopefully benefit other women going through this frightening disease.

Shal (right) and my hair ready to be donated to CANSA

Shal (right) and my hair ready to be donated to CANSA

 

Not typical super heroes by world standards, but certainly by mine. You should all be so proud of yourselves, cos I sure am!

 

“Those who say we’re in a time when there are no heroes, they just don’t know where to look”. Ronald Reagan

 

“How important is it for us to recognise and celebrate our heroes and she-roes. Maya Angelou

 

“The world knows little about its greatest heroes”. Dan Zadra

 

4 thoughts on “My Super She-roes

  1. “When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me:’Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.'”~ Fred Rogers

    Like

  2. True testimony to what a special and wonderful person you are, you’re surrounded and supported by friends and family who are each in their own way showing you how much they care and how much you mean to them…

    You never cease to amaze me, in the post chemo haze when you are not feeling well, you still have the will to show gratitude to those helping you fight this battle.

    The support we have received continues to overwhelm me, it’s humbling to know just how much people want to help and do care despite how busy life is.

    Janine, never forget how special you are and how much you mean to so many people.

    Love you xxx

    “I just want you to know that you’re very special… and the only reason I’m telling you is that I don’t know if anyone else ever has.”
    ― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

    Like

Leave a Reply

