I’m such a Girl

I have never been a real “girl” when it comes to creepy crawlies.   I have always had this philosophy about live and let live, if you don’t bother them they won’t bother you.  And let’s face it living in South Africa isn’t for sissies especially when it comes to our bugs! 

 

I never thought I would be one of those paranoid people, who become obsessed with avoiding insects!  I have read the emails which claim a spider can lay its eggs in your clothes and then the little baby spiders hatch and eat their way through human flesh and start their own colony in your organs …which is why you should always hang your clothes out in the sun to dry….. not knowing anyone personally living with flesh eating spiders on their person, I have always just taken this with a pinch of salt and a large dollop of Doom.

 

However, since having had lymph nodes removed and being told that any insect bite on my right arm or hand, has the capacity to lead to a major infection (and ultimate head explosions!), my philosophy towards these tiny and not so tiny creatures has changed. I have been advised to carry around things like mosquito repellent, “stingoes”, bactroban etc; and literally send myself off to the nearest casualty facility for ANY spider bite.  

 

Now I see potential incapacitation by insect everywhere!  

 

I have also discovered I am now the pied piper of spiders.  I have never seen so many spiders of every description in our home, they honestly stare at me knowing that my fate rest in their tiny venom sacs!  Now before I totally sound like I’m becoming a little unhinged …  I EVEN HAD ONE LAND ON MY HEAD the other evening as I was innocently watching TV!  Boy if anyone saw the moves I pulled getting it off me, they would never say I had major surgery less than a month and a half ago! Ricky Martin would have signed me as his back up dancer on the spot!

 

I now wear shoes all the time, inside and outside.  I am fine tuning my ninja skills walking silently through the house vigilant of any form of attack from a dusty nook. I even make sure the washing is drying outside in the sun!

 

So despite this disease determined to strip away all of my femininity, it’s actually turning me more into a girl every day!  I certainly scream like one!  

 

 

“I never kill insects.  If I see ants or spiders in the room, I pick them up and take them outside.  Karma is everything.”  Holly Valance 

 

“ The spider is more scared of you than you’re scared of it!  Oh really, did it tell you that!” Unknown

 

“ Seeing a spider is not the problem.  It becomes a problem when it disappears!”.  Unknown

 

“I saw a spider in my bathtub, so I got a piece of tissue and very carefully…..burned the house down”.  Unknown

 

“Why is it when you run into a spider web, you suddenly turn into a ninja”.  Unknown

4 thoughts on “I’m such a Girl

  1. “It seems to be the fashion nowadays for a girl to behave as much like a man as possible. Well, I won’t! I’ll make the best of being a girl and be as nice a specimen as I can: sweet and modest, a dear, dainty thing with clothes smelling all sweet and violety, a soft voice, and pretty, womanly ways. Since I’m a girl, I prefer to be a real one!”
    ― Mrs. George de Horne Vaizey

    “What a beautiful woman. She moved with grace, she was entirely feminine, and yet, she possessed incredible inner strength. She’s a survivor.”
    ― Jan Moran, Scent of Triumph

    Like

  2. “You have been my friend. That in itself is a tremendous thing. I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what’s a life, anyway? We’re born, we live a little while, we die. A spider’s life can’t help being something of a mess, with all this trapping and eating flies. By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can stand a little of that.”
    ― E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

    Think the spiders are just looking out for you and keeping all the other bugs at bay (you know how much I dislike them, so for me to even think that???)

    Can’t say it better than this…

    “Now look at me,
    This is the part of me
    That you’re never gonna ever take away from me, no
    This is the part of me
    That you’re never gonna ever take away from me, no

    Throw your sticks and stones,
    Throw your bombs and blows,
    But you’re not gonna break my soul.

    This is the part of me
    That you’re never gonna ever take away from me, no!”
    Katy Perry – Part Of Me Lyrics

    Like

  3. Oh dear!! You will get along just fine with Kate, she borders on near hysteria with any little gogga that is in her immediate vicinity. I wonder who has the loudest scream. Apparently spiders are detered by any citrus – I have heard that drying out orange/grapefruit/lemon peels and placing them in your garden help, and then for indoors if you use furniture polish (the oil kind) to add a few drops of citronella works. I have also read that planting mint around the house and near your windows works to discourage them.

    Never tried it myself so not sure – but worth investigating. 🙂

    Maybe they are making their appearance for Halloween?

    Courage, sacrifice, determination, committment, toughness, heart, talent, guts… that’s what little girls are made of. TO HELL with the sugar and spice! UNKNOWN

    Like

Leave a Reply

