Mac-D’s

 

Pete and I after MacD's

Pete and I after MacD’s

So there I was, back on my lazy boy chair having chemo number 2!

 

With a really grateful attitude and a major perspective change after spending the last 2 days stressing it would not happen today!

 

 

I saw the Dent Doctor this morning and he’s very happy with my healing.  Astonished just how quickly I am going through puberty! I was relieved to hear that he thinks the numb patch on my left thigh, may just be a pinched nerve and not the start of bone cancer as I feared (did I mention being slightly dramatic!).

 

 

Had some very interesting chemo neighbours today too. I sat next to and swapped a few war stories with a fellow breast cancer survivor.  She was proudly displaying her new hair growth, telling me how losing her hair was the most traumatic experience for her, even worse than the bilateral mastectomy.  Something I really could identify with!

 

 

She said she did not enjoy wearing a wig as it was really uncomfortable and extremely hot, but sometimes a necessity. She runs her own business and was at an exhibit in Joburg, thinking people were not going to buy from a sick person with no hair, she reluctantly donned her wig with a beanie over it as the weather was rather chilly.  She was attending to 3 immaculately coiffed ladies when her itching scalp became really uncomfortable, so she pulled off her beanie; she and the customers got a lot more than they bargained for when the wig came off with it!   Apparently the reaction from these ladies was truly priceless, convinced that they may have just witnessed someone scalp themselves!  I was almost rolling on the floor (quite a feat, with a drip in your arm!).

 

 

This was always my worst fear about wearing a wig, it either being knocked off my head or me accidentally pulling it off in public.  But here was this woman, surviving what most of us would find an awful and public humiliation, with a smile on her face and such an awesome story to tell!

 

 

The time spent there today seemed to just fly by, I met a DP from a local vehicle dealership and a lady who works on the medical team for the Sharks and who had enviable pictures on her iPad of her holding the Currie cup!  People I would normally never meet or even realise the battles they are fighting if I met them in any other context.

 

 

I felt so uplifted when I left the Cancer centre today. I even asked Pete to stop at the McDonalds drive through for a milkshake and Mac chips!  Not a healthy option I know, but it felt good to be alive and hey, while I’m feeling I actually can eat…

 

I may regret THAT decision in an hour or two, but for now I’m just a normal person eating McDonalds with a scarf on her head and a smile on her face!

 

 

 

 

“Be kinder than necessary because everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle” J.M.Barrie

 

 

“Miracles are a retelling in a small letters of the very same story which is written across the world in letters too large for some of us to see”. CS Lewis

 

 

“Don’t cry me a river, cry me a McDonalds fries.Unknown quotes

 

 

“One does not simply drive home from McDonalds without eating any fries”. Unknown quotes

 

 

“The one thing that you have that nobody else has is you.Your voice, your mind, your story, your vision.So write and draw and build and play and dance and live as only you can.” Neil Gaiman

6 thoughts on “Mac-D’s

  1. Another 2 days and nights of waiting, will it be or won’t it be… I wasn’t prepared for the emotional turmoil I felt when we got the go ahead. I don’t want this treatment to drag on a moment longer than it needs to, but at the same time I want to protect you from it and take away the horrendous side effects. But now, here we are 66% of the way through your encounter with the red devil… And knowing there is only one more of these to go, somehow makes it seem more bearable (for me who isn’t going through the treatment…)

    As I saw you chatting to those is similar, or worse situations than yourself today I saw how this journey is teaching me to look beyond the fronts that people put up. Its very easy to say, How are you? And move on in with the conversation in your mind before you have even listened or digested someone’s answer. Today, there were pillars of strength all around us, people who listened, chatted and advised. People we don’t even know who were happy to share their journey and listen to ours – it restored my faith in strangers and made me want to pay more attention and actually listen to people again…

    We have to celebrate the small things, and even if its just McDonalds milkshakes and chips for now, its a small, well deserved reward for the battle you’re conquering.

    Love you xxx

    “Every passing face on the street represents a story every bit as compelling and complicated as yours” Anon

    “When people talk, listen completely , most people never listen” Ernest Hemmingway

    “Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.” Leo Buscaglia

    Like

  2. Thank you for always being there and for keeping things in perspective for me. “Those three words are said too much, they’re not enough”. From Chasing cars by Snow Patrol”

    Like

  3. You’ve done it before and you can do it now. See the positive possibilities. Redirect the substantial energy of your frustration and turn it into positive, effective, unstoppable determination.
    Ralph Marston

    Like

  4. Hi to you both, although you don’t know us Pete, I am sure Janine you will remember us from a very long time ago when she visited the u.k. I read your updates and my heart goes out to you both, think about you a lot and I am sure you will beat this and be well again soon, just keep fighting girl. A few memories you might remember Janine, Mick’s false teeth landing in your lap when we were playing a game at our house one christmas, I think you also had a bad case of flu one morning after camping with Lisa {nothing to do with the amount of Jack Daniels you drank the night before] and you even managed to eat the fried breakfast I dished up in the morning. Mick has also reminded me about the winter visit we made to Rottingdean where the sea was breaking over the sidewalk and we were running away from the waves, we were there with Cindy, Gerry, Lisa and Jason. I hope you enjoy these memories. Always in our thoughts, God Bless, love Linda and Mick. xxxx

    Like

  5. Dear Linda and Mick, wow a definite trip down memory lane! Oh gosh I have such good stories of that time, Jenga, toes and false teeth! 🙂

    Thank you for your support and love, I really appreciate it. I hope you are both keeping well? Xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

