Christmas Decorating

I have had such a good strong week that I have even managed to do some Christmas shopping and have a few coffee dates!

 

So yesterday when I woke up feeling a bit “flu-ey”, which I now recognise as a sign that my white blood cell count is a bit low, I didn’t feel too cheated about taking a PJ-day and staying away from public places when I had to cancel an outing.  It also often means that I may also be a tad more irritable than normal – sorry Pete!

 

Today was “full up Friday”, so other than tidying up my craft cupboard, doing a few other household chores and listening to the new NOW Christmas CD Pete bought for me ( I think it was a hint that Boney-M could not be played another year!), I have been taking it easy.

 

Our Christmas decorations went up last weekend.  I can hear all my traditionalist friend tutting about that being FAR too early. Well, we felt the house and both of us needed some cheering up, and for me, Christmas decorations do exactly that!  Not knowing exactly when my new chemo plan will start after my next one on the 4th, is certainly making it difficult to make any Christmas or New Year plans.  So controlling what I can at the moment, like deciding on how and where the Christmas décor should look and go, is a very important thing in my life!

 

So if anyone else is thinking they will be judged if their Christmas decorations are put up early… I say…. if it’s something that will give you and your family a little more to smile about at this time of the year, go for it –  after all life is short, but right now you still have a chance to make some great new memories…

 

Christmas 2013

 

Like snowflakes, my Christmas memories gather and dance – each beautiful, unique and too soon gone.”
~ Deborah Whipp

Gifts of time and love are surely the basic ingredients of a truly merry Christmas.”
~ Peg Bracken

The best Christmas trees come very close to exceeding nature.”
~ Andy Rooney

The perfect Christmas tree? All Christmas trees are perfect!”
~ Charles N. Barnard

Christmas is a necessity. There has to be at least one day of the year to remind us that we’re here for something else besides ourselves.”
~ Eric Sevareid

3 thoughts on “Christmas Decorating

  1. “I wish we could put some of the Christmas spirit in jars, and open a jar of it every month.” H Miller

    This year, and specifically the past few months have been a reminder again, that life is short. You can’t afford to take anything for granted, least of all your health. I’ll take the good days when we have them, they are what gets us through the bad day. Another lesson in control for me the December – the one who likes to have everything mapped and planned – this year we’re going to have to just take things as they come.

    The decorations, lights and advent calendar bring a smile to my heart each time I walk into the house. Life’s about the small things…

    And just remember, “all I want for Christmas, is you.” xxx

    “Instead of being a time of unusual behavior, Christmas is perhaps the only time in the year when people can obey their natural impulses and express their true sentiments without feeling self-conscious and, perhaps, foolish. Christmas, in short, is about the only chance a man has to be himself.” Francis C. Farley

    Like

  2. I am shocked to hear that you have traditionalist friends 🙂
    But pleased that the opinions of others wont hamper your desire to go on and decorate! Would that I was as strong of determination as you.

    “Tradition is a guide and not a jailer” William Somerset Maugham.

    “Family traditions counter alienation and confusion. they help us define who we are, they provide something steady, reliable and safe in a confusing world” Susan Lieberman quotes

    But more than anything, your tradition of decorating your home (all through the year, and in every season)is inspiring and one my children look forward to, so very glad you were up to the challenge!

    Like

Leave a Reply

