Eish

This morning didn’t start very well…  I noticed a small red patch of skin just above my scar on my right side on Saturday and assumed this was normal skin stretching stuff. Last night I noticed this patch has increased in size and “heatness”… this morning it hadn’t looked as it has gotten any worse, but it hadn’t improved either.  I took some anti inflams and made myself a cold compress from a packet of frozen corn (along with a reminder that we needed to add frozen peas to our shopping list!) and called the Cancer Centre.  The sister suggested I pop in for them to have a look.  

 

For someone usually VERY self conscious, I have suddenly developed some “flasher” tendencies!  I can whip by shirt off for almost anyone!  Two of the sisters had a look; hysterical about my corn compress idea, very concerned I had done this in the middle of Pick n Pay!  I guess they’re just as worried about my flasher tendencies!

 

They felt it definitely needed some attention, said they would chat to the oncologist, but that I would more than likely need an antibiotic.  Driving home I was phoned to say the Dent Doctor would need me to do a blood test just to check on those pesky white blood cells, and suggested I contact the plastic surgeon as well to take a look. Eish!  

 

The plastic surgeon says she wants to see me at 13:00. Double Eish!

 

(quotes to follow!)

5 thoughts on “Eish

  1. And so the start to a new week… Monday blues to say the least after what was a great weekend. But remember you’ve made it through the day, a day of flashing and unplanned appointments, you’ve popped the next set of pills and now with some more rest you’ll teach this infection who not to mess with. Another reminder of this is uncharted map is full of unexpected and unplanned obstacles, none which we won’t be able to overcome.

    Stay strong, know that this is frustrating and demoralizing but we will get there. Love you lots xxx

    “Life is a series of experiences, each one of which makes us bigger, even though sometimes it is hard to realize this. For the world was built to develop character, and we must learn that the setbacks and grieves which we endure help us in our marching onward.”

    Henry Ford

    Like

  2. Goodness me….how much I admire you both. MOST IMPORTANTLY I love to read you banter to and fro. What a special couple with such obvious love, compassion and respect for one another. Despite the challenging journey you are on I believe that you two are the two heros or lucky ones in this world.

    To live and not love is to not live at all.

    Love is friendship set to music…Joseph Campbell

    Love is real, real is love…John Lennon

    Like

  3. I get this sinking feeling when there is a set-back and a delay in getting through this treatment process… So I cannot even imagine how disheartening this must feel for you. I marvel at how far you and Pete, as a team, have come; and choose to focus on this.

    At times it is folly to hasten at other times, to delay. The wise do everything in its proper time.
    Ovid

    Like

Leave a Reply

