Red Devil be gone

So today was the day I had been waiting for for so many weeks.  Yesterday I had my bloods done and stressed the whole day that they would phone me to say they were too low to do treatment!  BUT here I am – my last red devil!  I have just seen the Dent Doc who says I am a champion! He said all the bloods are looking really good and he is pleased about how well I am doing.  He took some time and explained the next step in the chemo journey, Taxol, the next drug of choice.  He said the nausea is usually a whole lot better, although apparently tiredness increases. But we’ll worry about that in 3 weeks time!

 

Best news is my hair should start growing in about 3 to 4 weeks. Funny enough it still had been growing except for around the sides head.  I got Pete to shave it off for me on Sunday night before I got too attached to it!  Even with it looking so thin and whispy, it was hard to see it go!

 

Today I had a bucket of warm water placed on my lap to soak my left hand in to “bring out the veins” – scary! A bit nervous about what happens when it becomes weekly treatments!

 

But today my focus is on reaching another milestone; which makes the prospect of a nauseas few days far more bearable!

 

“Listing your personal milestones is like storing a pocketful of sunshine for a rainy day.” Unknown

 

“I count him braver who overcomes his desires than him who overcomes his enemies, for the hardest victory is victory over self.” Aristotle

 

“One of the most tragic things I know about human nature is that all of us tend to put off living. We are all dreaming of some magical rose garden over the horizon — instead of enjoying the roses that are blooming outside our windows today. Dale Carnegie

 

“Success is not measured by what a man accomplishes, but by the opposition he has encountered and the courage with which he has maintained the struggle against overwhelming odds.”  Charles Lindbergh

 

 

“A man is not finished when he is defeated. He is finished when he quits.”  Richard Nixon

2 thoughts on “Red Devil be gone

  1. Another day of waiting… It’s long and lonely but we’re through another one, and yes the milestone reached – your journey with the red devil is over. Know that while its a big milestone, its taken its toll on you. Know you’re not feeling well, the nausea is the worst its been and you’re looking yellow again… But with lots of rest, and medication you’ll get through this.

    Bittersweet news that your journey with the next chemo drug starts on Christmas eve. In so many ways I want this over and done with, regardless of whats in the path… At the same time though, its not going to be a great Christmas for us – but whats far more important to me is that getting through all this, gives us next Christmas together.

    Know the next few days are going to be tough, just remember that its ok not be be ok (all the time!!!). I’m here, you’re surrounded with friends and family who just want to help, together we’ll get through this one too. Love you always xxx

    “I’m a strong person, but every once in a while I would like someone to take my hand and tell me everything is gonna be all right.” Anon

    “Believe in yourself and all that you are. Know that there is something inside you that is greater than any obstacle.” Christian D. Larson

    “If children have the ability to ignore all odds and percentages, then maybe we can all learn from them. When you think about it, what other choice is there but to hope? We have two options, medically and emotionally: give up, or Fight Like Hell.” Lance Armstrong

    Like

  2. I am so grateful that you have been there for me for every chemo. I know I tell you that you shouldn’t, that I’ll be fine. Mostly as I know what this does to you, seeing those drips, seeing the after effects. But selfishly, I am so glad you are there – you make me feel stronger like there isn’t anything I can’t get through.

    I know patience, spending hours waiting and not having control over this process does not come naturally to you. But you have done so bravely, aso confidently and with so much love.

    Yip not the nicest way to spend our Christmas eve, but the most important thing is that we will be ther together. All my love as always.

    Like

Leave a Reply

