Earning my stripes

With my arm healing so well and the mobility improving every day, I have been able to start wearing clothes I have not been able to get into since my surgery. No longer do I have to rely only on my selection of button up tops.

I have always loved the nautical looking stripey tops and have quite a selection in my cupboard. So the other day I decided I felt like it was time to be a bit more daring and wear my blue and white striped T-shirt. I was so excited that I was able to get it onto my body without much effort and discomfort! I went to the mirror, put on some make up, and tied a pretty blue scarf around my head to match the whole outfit.

Now I have to say that I have managed to accumulate a variety of scarves and assorted headgear, mostly due to generous local and overseas friends and family. I have become rather confident in tying scarves and headscarves around my little bald dome or as I like to call it my LBD (similar to the little black dress, but not!).

I had no need to be at all concerned about choosing and finding just the right headscarf to go with my stripes. UNTIL I had a closer look…..my lovely stripes and my head scarves do not make a great combination……unless you are Johnny Depp or playing a pirate in a panto!

I was devastated…no stripey tops until my hair has grown back, or until I am invited to a pirate party! ***SIGH***(or rather ARRR)….

“There are four questions of value in life… What is sacred? Of what is the spirit made? What is worth living “for, and what is worth dying for? The answer to each is same. Only love.” Johnny Depp

“Once you can accept the universe a being something expanding into an infinite nothing which is something, wearing stripes with plaid is easy.” Albert Einstein

“Some pirates achieved immortality by great deeds of cruelty or derring-do. Some achieved immortality by amassing great wealth. But the captain had long ago decided that he would, on the whole, prefer to achieve immortality by not dying.” Terry Pratchett, The Colour of Magic

“To err is human but to arr is pirate!!” Unknown

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?” Captain Jack Sparrow

2 thoughts on “Earning my stripes

  1. 3 months today since your op, and what a road its been. Despite that and a rather rough last round of chemo last week, you can still make me smile and laugh – you really don’t look like a pirate, you’re as beautiful as you have always been to me – and last night, when you put your wig on, it surprised me – I’d forgotten what you looked like with your hair… As a wise lady told me, human beings are remarkably adaptable. You may just start a new fashion if you go out in your pirate attire… xxx

    “Once you can accept the universe as being something expanding into an infinite nothing which is something, wearing stripes with plaid is easy.” Albert Einstein

    “We want people to know that we do more than stripes and polka dots.” Carol McNeely

    Why change? Everyone has his own style. When you have found it, you should stick to it.” Audrey Hepburn

    Like

Leave a Reply

