New Year’s Eve

New Year’s Eve 2013….

Not sure how to sum up this year in a word: Challenging? Horrid? Terrifying? Humbling?

It seems to have been a rather tough year for a lot of people, and I have heard many friends say that they cannot wait to see the back of 2013 for all sorts of reasons.  For me, I definitely don’t think it will be a year I would consider one of my favorites; however as with most tough times, it certainly has taught me a lot about myself and those around me.

The year ahead is a scary one, the chemo continues, radiation looms, unknown hormone treatments ahead, more surgeries… So I guess I will see the New Year in respectfully.

No resolutions, no new diets, no promises of joining the gym, no negotiations.

I am rather learning to ask for the things that really matter to me these days – days without nausea and pain. No chemo induced constipation (tmi!). No ports. No disappearing veins. No more blocked lymph and random swelling. No more headscarves. No recurring cancer.

For 2014 my biggest hope is pretty simple: to regain an identity in a life without breast cancer AND special people to share it with.

“May Light always surround you;
Hope kindle and rebound you.
May your Hurts turn to Healing;
Your Heart embrace Feeling.
May Wounds become Wisdom;
Every Kindness a Prism.
May Laughter infect you;
Your Passion resurrect you.
May Goodness inspire
your Deepest Desires.
Through all that you Reach For,
May your arms Never Tire.” D.Simone

“I have no way of knowing how people really feel, but the vast majority of those I meet couldn’t be nicer. Every once in a while someone barks at me. My New Year’s resolution is not to bark back.” Tucker Carlson

“Your success and happiness lies in you. Resolve to keep happy, and your joy and you shall form an invincible host against difficulties.” — Helen Keller

“If you asked me for my New Year Resolution, it would be to find out who I am.” — Cyril Cusack

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve

  1. My resolution is to pray in earnest for a full,perfect recovery for you and that when you come through this you will be an even better version of the already amazing girl you are . Hang in there kiddo and keep those fists up xxx

    Like

  2. “Sometimes the best thing you can do is not think, not wonder, not imagine, not obsess. Just breathe, and have faith that everything will work out for the best.” – N Panwar –

    “Without you, I’m nothing. With you, I’m something. Together, we’re everything.” – Anon –

    “There are a few inspirational people in this world that allow others to see into the kind and gentle nature of their hearts. Who are modest and put much passion and love into everything they do. Few people as special as you…” – Anon –

    Like

  3. I don’t really believe in New Years resolutions, in my experience they add no value to life, but rather create much disappointment as I fail to uphold them year after year; but I do want to try to live each day rather than anticipating the next “special” thing…I should have learned by now that life holds many unexpected challenges.

    “What day is it?”
    It’s today,” squeaked Piglet.
    “My favourite day,” said Pooh.
    A A Milne

    Like

Leave a Reply

