(Un) join the club

The half way mark has been reached!7 treatments left, and if all goes according to schedule: 7 weeks to go, 49 days….but who’s counting 🙂

I saw a different Oncologist today as the Dent Doctor was away and he was happy with my bloods: white blood cell count good, liver and kidney functions good. Whew ** wiping brow** not sure if that was due to a hot flush or relief!

Wendy came with me this morning to hold my hand, it was nice not to be there on my own –  an uncomfortable thing for an independent, mature and very capable woman to admit!

I’m always mindful that if  I don’t want to be there I certainly can’t expect anyone else to voluntarily be there either.  No matter how welcoming the environment, how fantastic all the staff are and how grateful I am to not be having treatment in an impersonal hospital where I would just be faceless number; it is always daunting walking into the cancer centre as it’s a stark, uncomfortable and scary reminder of how real this new life of mine acually is.

“Having cancer gave me membership in an elite club I’d rather not belong to.” Gilda Radner

“That’s what people do who love you. They put their arms around you and love you when you’re not so lovable.” Deb Caletti

“A true friend is someone who is there for you when they’d rather be somewhere else” Anon

One thought on “(Un) join the club

  1. “Be that strong girl that everyone knew would make it through the worst, be that fearless girl, the one who would dare to do anything, be that independent girl who didn’t need a man; be that girl who never backed down.”
    ― Taylor Swift

    Glad that you aren’t so independent that you don’t need a man 🙂 but love that you are the girl who won’t back down. More than half way today, the small victories are worth celebrating. Wendy thank you for being there to hold Janine’s hand and keeping the neurotic husband updates on bbm.

    Love you xxx

    “I am not a victim. No matter what I have been through, I’m still here. I have a history of victory.”
    — Steve Maraboli

    Like

Leave a Reply

