A gold star week

Today is day 2 post chemo.  Day 2 tends to be my “flat” day which means I can laze around the house all day and not feel guilty!

This past week has felt really productive with a couple of “firsts” thrown in, making me feel even less guilty about all the lazying around I did today…

On Monday I was back having my first (and hopefully last) “fill” since the end of November – part of the “over” expansion process.  My plastic surgeon is happy with the progress and wants to see me again for an assessment once chemo is done.  My expanded and sensitive skin has had 2 months to rest and I was nervous to go back, terrified of stirring up an infection which could jeopardise all the healing already achieved – especially while having weekly chemo sessions.  (Prodding a bee hive is the picture I had in my head).  But so far, as I touch my now peach fuzz covered LBD, all seems to be ok.

I even managed a pilates session on Monday afternoon!  I hadn’t been to classes since the beginning of September and Allison, my instructor, was very complimentary of my efforts.   To be really honest, I just think she was awfully kind, surreptitiously allowing me plenty of time to rest in between sequences.  But hey, I take my compliments where I get them!  And BOY did I sleep well that night!

Wednesday I had a physio appointment to help with some lymph drainage issues.  The last few weeks of stinky hot weather have not been the ideal conditions for the draining of lymph, despite the 2ce daily manual drainage I do.  I also needed some extra help keeping my arm mobile as the fills often affect the muscles.   Fortunately not much damage had been done and after the lymph drainage session, I felt 10 kgs lighter!  I made a vow that when I grow up and become a trillionaire, Gillian will move into my mansion and I will have lymph drainage on tap!

She was also supportive of me going back to pilates as well as my efforts in taking short gentle (daily) walks – but also gave me a stern reminder not to overdo things.  I had a quiet chuckle to myself, I have NEVER EVER been warned about doing too much exercise!  She also pointed out that if I was planning to do a lot of walking, I would need to start wearning a compression sleeve to avoid the lymph pooling and causing too much swelling in my right hand  😦

Thursday I had my first reflexology session, and for once I was the practitioner and not the patient!  It was great to feel productive again even if it means only seeing one client a week for now.

So for the first time in a really long while, I felt almost like ME again!  A little defective, but I’m definitely getting there 🙂

“Whenever I feel the need to exercise, I lie down until it goes away.” Paul Terry“A bear, however hard he tries, grows tubby without exercise.” A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

“It shouldn’t be easy to be amazing. Then everything would be. It’s the things you fight for and struggle with before earning that have the greatest worth. When something’s difficult to come by, you’ll do that much more to make sure it’s even harder―or impossible―to lose.” Sarah Dressen

“If we all did the things we are capable of, we would astound ourselves.” Thomas Edison

“Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty… I have never in my life envied a human being who led an easy life. I have envied a great many people who led difficult lives and led them well.” Theodore Roosevelt

4 thoughts on “A gold star week

  1. It is amazing how you have recovered, yes it hasn’t been easy – no one said it would be – but if you think back to non-slip mats to keep you up in bed, its truly remarkable. Despite all that, I still want to wrap you in bubble wrap and protect you from the world. I know that’s totally unrealistic but just know how proud I am of you for picking yourself up and getting yourself going again. You deserve a platinum star for last week… What does this week have in store. Love you xxx

    “Remind yourself that change is what shapes the journey and makes your story unique. Life throws us these curve balls to challenge us, make us stronger and keep us moving forward.”
    – Anon –

    “We do not need magic to transform our world. We carry all of the power we need inside ourselves already.”
    – J.K. Rowling –

    “I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.”
    – Vincent Van Gogh –

    Like

  2. I’m so happy I found your blog! And you deserve many many many gold stars for all you have accomplished J!!! Many people go through life without ever accepting a challenge and becoming stronger for it as you have done! You are an inspiration and a motivation! I think of you both, often!

    Like

  3. Platinum indeed Pete! Your positive attitude and encouragement are always appreciated and keep me looking ahead. Loved your quotes! Here’s to many more gold stars xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

