Birthday spoils

Breakfast and pressies in bed!

Breakfast and pressies in bed!

It’s love potion number 9

No, not really…

It’s chemo treatment number 9!

It’s also a lovely, overcast, rainy day – a welcomed respite after a scorching week…Yesterday was my birthday – I had an amazing day of spoiling!  It certainly started well – pressies and breakfast in bed!  I was so busy reading birthday messages and chatting to people that I almost forgot to shower and go for bloods!

Wendy brought me lunch – she was horrified that my birthday lunch was going to consist of a boiled egg (for the protein you know)!  Pete took me out for sushi, I managed the vegetarian selection without a problem!  With three flower deliveries thrown in, I can honestly say  it was the epitome of being spoilt rotten!

This year I felt very differently about my birthday, don’t get me wrong, I am a true birthday hussey, I love birthdays (especially mine)!  I usually have a birthday countdown about a month before the event.  Poor Pete is usually ALL birthdayed out by the time the day rolls around!  He sets a high benchmark and always seems to out do himself from the year before (you can imagine how hard that is for me to cope with ……NOT 🙂 but no wonder he is looking exhaused!  It’s just how frequently those years seem to be coming around which tends to be the problem…

I have celebrated my 25th birthday (plus VAT) for the last 15 years, although now it’s realistically looking more like 25 PLUS the American deficit.

This year however, I have a new respect for turning a year older.  Something I have recently learned to not take for granted…

All those months ago while sitting in my GP’s waiting room, vaguely concerned about a lump I found that just didn’t feel as “normal” as the others I have had looked at since I was in my very early 20’s.  I saw a notice which I must have barely glanced at for years.  It read: “Do not complain about growing older.  It is a privilege denied to many”. ANON

4 thoughts on “Birthday spoils

  1. You have been looking so well in the last few days, an amazing accomplishment given all that you are going through! 🙂 XXX

    “I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly and acutely miserable, but through it all I still know that just to be alive is a great thing” ~ Agatha Christie

    Like

  2. Luckily the exhaustion hasn’t set in for good yet, I still have a few good birthday ideas up my sleeve, you’re just going to have to wait at least a year before you know about any of them. I did miss the annual countdown this year, but with all that is going on the days seem too blend together, one chemo treatment to the next. Glad that you had a good birthday, looking forward to celebrating many more with you, as the American deficit decreases… xxx

    “Please come to my next birthday party, standing next to you makes me feel so young”
    – Anon –

    “Act as young as you feel, you’re not getting any older; you’re getting more entitled to be your fabulous self.”
    – Gwen Stefani –

    “Wholehearted living is about engaging in our lives from a place of worthiness. It’s about cultivating the courage, compassion, and connection to wake up in the morning and think;
    No matter what gets done and how much is left undone, I am enough. It’s going to bed at night thinking, Yes, I am imperfect and vulnerable and sometimes afraid, but that doesn’t change the truth that I am also brave and worthy of love and belonging.”
    – Brené Brown –

    Like

  3. Thank you for spoiling me Pete! I had a fabulous birthday despite being in the middle of chemo! Who would have thought!

    Thank you for your quotes, not sure about the first one…. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

