Tripping down memory lane…

This week has been a week of crying….crying with laughter!

My friend Adele, whom I met on my very first day of High School, has been visiting with her photo album circa 1986-1990 via her ipad… Terrifying stuff, even scarier than cancer…..80’s hairstyles! EISH

We have had a week of exercise … skipping down memory lane and rolling on the floor with laughter at frightening fashion and horrendous hairdos.

I had a call from Adele a few weeks ago to say she had been reading my blog, and really felt compelled to come out and help in whatever way she could…spring clean, bath dogs, garden, cook…

I was totally blown away and naturally I protested…. afterall it was a very long and expensive way to come to make some meals AND she has two little boys and a stressful job…and I’m actually doing fine, I certainly COULDN’T expect that and certainly WOULDN’T expect anyone to do that…. and and and….

She sent me an sms a little later to say it was something she really felt she would like to do.  She remembered arriving on her first day of standard 6, not knowing anyone in PMB feeling very lost and seriously debating leaving school and walking back home, when I showed up, an equally nerdy and insecure almost teenager, the first person who made an effort to talk to her and make friends.  Now, I honestly was taken aback, I mean I remember that day, I remember all the sleep overs and us getting up at 3am to watch Halley’ s Comet, the dinner parties, the games evenings.  I even remember her mom being at my mom’s funeral that year… I mean we had a history, I was one of her bridesmaids and we had reconnected a few times over the years since they had been in the UK.  What I had never realised over the last 20 + years was what an impact that first day had made on her, enough for her to fly 10 000 kilometers.

Pete and I have totally been blown away by the kindness and generosity of so many people on our journey, the messages of support, the meals, the love…the things WE hope we can pay forward in the future.

So last Friday Adele and her hubby, Barry, arrived in SA to “do all the things she would liked to have done if she still lived here”.  We now have a ton of pressies and a freezer full of food 🙂 AND today, the day of my 12th treatment, I had a new chemo buddy and chauffeur!

Thanks Adele….3 to go!

Pressies!

Pressies!

Yummy!  Thanks Adele

Yummy! Thanks Adele

“Why did you do all this for me?’ he asked. ‘I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.’ ‘You have been my friend,’ replied Charlotte. ‘That in itself is a tremendous thing.” EB White, Charlotte’s Web

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art…. It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things which give value to survival.” CS Lewis

“Good friends, good books, and a sleepy conscience: this is the ideal life.” Mark Twain

“There is nothing better than a friend, unless it is a friend with chocolate.” Linda Grayson

“We’ll be Friends Forever, won’t we, Pooh?’ asked Piglet. Even longer,’ Pooh answered.” AA Milne

3 thoughts on “Tripping down memory lane…

  1. Thanks Adele, for flying all those km’s, not only do we have a fully stocked fridge but more importantly – every day I’ve come home to a house filled with laughter. From the days events (chemo brain is a real thing, and generating some interesting tales which sadly for Janine I plan to remember…), old memories and some rather concerning 80ties pictures…

    To each and every person who has shared and continues to share this journey with us – THANK YOU seems inadequate, words can’t sum up what the support has meant and continues to mean to us both. The constant social media support, texts, calls, visits and emails truly keep us going. For someone who has always thought they were self sufficient, you’ve proved me wrong. I never imagined I would need the love, care, compassion and support that we have received over the past few months and can only hope that in some way I’ll get to “pay it back”.

    “Give freely to the world these gifts of love and compassion. Do not concern yourself with how much you receive in return, just know in your heart it will be returned.”
    – Steve Maraboli –

    “Friends broaden our horizons. They serve as new models with whom we can identify. They allow us to be ourselves-and accept us that way. They enhance our self-esteem because they think we’re okay, because we matter to them. And because they matter to us-for various reasons, at various levels of intensity-they enrich the quality of our emotional life.”
    – Judith Viorst –

    “No act of kindness is too small. The gift of kindness may start as a small ripple that over time can turn into a tidal wave affecting the lives of many.”
    – Kevin Heath –

    Like

Leave a Reply

