So what’s next?

It’s a surprise that I actually heard anything that the Dent Doc actually said after declaring me a chemo graduate!

While I was still throwing my headscarf up in the air – figuratively speaking of course – (I think it may have been a little more than he could handle  if I literally yanked the scarf off my head in his office – afterall the poor man is already a little sleep deprived with a new baby at home); he reminded me that while this chapter was  officially over, the story was still not done…**spoilsport!**

He had been thinking about my radiation and was convinced that in the best interests of my implants and the reconstructive process still to come, instead of having more intensive radiation over a shorter period, he would prefer a lower dosage over a longer time frame.  This means instead of  3 weeks of 15 sessions of radiation he is proposing 5 weeks of 25 sessions 😦

He felt this would be the “safest” way to cause minimum damage to the implant and hopefully keep it from shrivelling and resulting in less scar tissue over time.  The only real negative would be that my skin would be exposed to a longer radiation period, which could lead to all sorts of unpleasant situations such as peeling and a darkening of the skin.  But that he would also discuss this with my plastic surgeon before making any final decisions.

However, he also let us know that before we start radiation I will need to be sufficiently healed from the implant exchange surgery.  (I have an appointment with my plastic surgeon on the 4th of April to discuss dates of surgery and for her to order the implants).

He told me I would need to have an MRI  after surgery so that he could plot the area for radiation and that I would need to see him every week of radiation so he can check my progress.  After radiation,  I will have another MRI; and after I have stopped “glowing” (he has a wicked sense of humour!) I will start taking Tamoxifen, a hormone blocker, for 5 years.  Thereafter I will see him every 3 months for 2 years, and every 6 months after that.  I will have yearly scans and gynae visits to keep a check the Tamoxifen hasn’t caused things like endometrial cancer (!!!!).

But nothing could dampen our spirits on Friday and he still got the biggest smiles and a volley of thank yous from Pete and I as we left his office!

Pete bought me this charm for my bracelet to celebrate "the end of chemo".  Think he and the Dent Doctor have the same sense of humour.

Pete bought me this charm for my bracelet to celebrate “the end of chemo”. Think he and the Dent Doctor have the same sense of humour.

“Don’t be afraid to take a big step if one is indicated. You can’t cross a chasm in two small jumps.” ― David Lloyd George

“In order to move forward, you will have to stumble along the way, but every falter in your stride just makes your next step even stronger.” ― Lindsay Chamberlin

“I suppose whenever you fo through periods of transition, or in a way, it’s a very definite closing of a certain chapter of your life – I suppose those times are always going to be both upsetting and also very exciting by the very nature because things are changing and you don’t know what’s going to happen.”  Daniel Radcliffe

“You can’t start the next chapter of your life if you keep re-reading the last one”.  ANON

“Fait is taking the first step even when you don’ see the whole staircase.” Martin Luther King Jr.

“Acceptance of what has happened is the first step to overcoming the consequences of any misfortune”. William James

“There is no one giant step that does it.  It’s a lot of little steps.” Peter A. Cohen

“When you feel that you have reached the end and that you cannot go one step further, when life seems to be drained of all purpose: what a wonderful opportunity to start all over again, to turn over a new page.” Eileen Caddy

2 thoughts on “So what’s next?

Leave a Reply

