Toenails and Beach walks

If I didn’t love my home so much I would have called this week’s post: Prison Break!

It was the first time I had been away from home, (not counting the hospital stay after my surgery – and who would possibly count THAT!), in a VERY VERY VERY long time, did I mention it’s been a long time?!

And, how is this for another amazing example of how generous and kind people have been to us along our journey: Pete and I had been offered a weekend away at a private beach cottage on the south coast by someone I have never even met…

It could not have come at a better time! Not only have I been desperately needing a change of environment, but I see the plastic surgeon on Friday to discuss the next surgery and the next chapter of treatment…we really needed some time away from reality

On Thursday evening however our highly anticipated plans were almost thwarted!

While chilling in the bath tub I was horrified to see that my big toenail had cracked and come “loose” from its nail bed **cue “the scream” face!** I had been so preoccupied and concerned about my fingernails falling off that I totally forgot that this may possibly also happen to my toes! Pretty nail polish had hidden the nail damage but in the aftermath of walking my very first 5km Park Run last weekend, it clearly had lost its will to hang on any longer. What a catastrophe! I mean, how can you possibly set foot on a beach, without one of your toenails?????

Fortunately I know some very powerful people in the beauty therapy field who responded quickly to my hysterical Friday morning BBM SOS. After some closely guarded cosmetically induced magic, I left the salon sporting a freshly painted and brand new toenail! Crisis averted, thank you Nicola!

The beach house was beautiful, the weather glorious and the company perfect!

Image

Pete and I took morning walks along the beach and despite swollen feet and pork sausage toes, my toenails looked amazing and it was worth every step.

Image

There’s just something about the sea that really helps heal a bruised spirit …and with any luck, broken toe and fingernails too!

Image

“Thank you – because when you pause and look around there are some pretty amazing people in this world” ANON

“Every time I stand before a beautiful beach, its waves seem to whisper to me:
If you choose the simple things and find joy in nature’s simple treasures,
life and living need not be so hard.” Psche Roxas-Mendoza

“When my toes are sunk into warm sand and the ocean is lapping my feet, when I breathe in the scent of salt and hear the cry of a seagull, I know that I am returned to a place of restoration. I am home. I can heal here.” Toni Sorenson

Leave a Reply

