Paperweights, Stress balls and Easter Baskets

I’m HOME!

I was so grateful to have Gerry, my own private nurse 😉 to hold my hand as I went into in surgery again – without her theatre would be a lonely and scary place.

I was released yesterday late morning on good behaviour, or rather on good healing and good pain management 🙂

The plastic surgeon was happy to let me go, and after having a night of disrupted sleep, I was very happy to be let go!

My word if anyone thinks they go to hospital for rest and recover they will be rather disappointed. I was woken up at 11pm to have my blood pressure, oxygen and temperature taken. I woke up at 12pm and again at 1am to general hospital noise and some twinge-y pain. At 2am I was woken up for my drains to be checked and finally at that point I also just took advantage of being wide awake to ask for pain medication. When I finally managed to get back to sleep I was woken up at 5am for tea and a rusk. Fortunately the quality of the care certainly made up for the lack of sleep!

I was even presented with the cleaned expanders as a souvenir and after feeling how heavy they were I totally understand why I felt as if I had been carrying around rocks on my chest for all these months! More than half the fluid had been removed so they could be taken out during surgery, so realistically they were even heavier – scary stuff!

Been thinking of turning them into paperweights or stress balls for Pete’s desk or maybe I should do one of each – they certainly would make interesting conversation pieces!

Image

The expanders with their magnetic ports

Pete arrived at 9am and I was happy to tell him that the worst pain I had experienced so far came from the drip in my hand! I got my last bottle of pain medication via drip at 10am and by the time my plastic surgeon came to check up on me, the nursing sister had already decided to remove the drip (a huge relief – you would think I would be completely immune to these things).

Dr B discharged me with my drains along with strict instructions on how to empty them and then to send her the readings from each  this morning. Thankfully Wendy, my other private nurse, came to empty and measure the fluid for me. So this morning when I spoke to Dr B’s receptionist and gave her the volumes she said she very much doubted they would be removed today. I sadly felt the same way, but considering I only have 2 drains to juggle as opposed to 4 last time around, I certainly can cope for another few days…

The good thing is that the little bags I was given last year post mastectomy from the Reach for Recovery organisation, can double up as handy baskets for Easter Egg hunts – Pete hope you are ready!

Image

“It is easy to tell the toiler How best he can carry his pack
But no one can rate a burden’s weight Until it has been on his back”  Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Good humor is a tonic for mind and body. It is the best antidote for anxiety and depression. It is a business asset. It attracts and keeps friends. It lightens human burdens. It is the direct route to serenity and contentment.”  Grenville Kleiser

Image

 

4 thoughts on “Paperweights, Stress balls and Easter Baskets

  1. Well done.. So glad all went well my friend! Thinking of u as always.. Have a Happy Easter.. Sending loads of love & hugs xxx

    Like

  2. And there we were, back in hospital all over again – except this time we were old pro’s. We knew the ins and outs – we’d packed the bags for the drains, the pillows for under the arms, the button down PJ’s… Hours spend the night before copying series onto the tablet so Janine would have a distraction, then BAM – she was in and out within 24 hours.

    Not that I’m complaining, for anyone whose waited for someone in surgery – those hours of waiting seem to have a way of occupying your mind. Worrying about what could happen, how the patient will be, will the pain be bearable, will the op be a success – as we all well know surgery, no matter how routine carries its risks – my distraction was that same nurse Gerry. She’d been by Janine’s side while she waited for surgery, she then switched roles and was determined to distract me and snap me out of my personal pity party. It worked, coffee, lunch and a good chat later, we were soon back with a rather groggy Janine. The world is fill of truly remarkable people – thank you Gerry. Then in stepped Wendy – now I’m not the bravest of people when it comes to blood, I’ve been know to come close to fainting at the sight of my own (and that’s just at the blood donor clinic) – so my relief was evident when she willingly dropped everything and arrived to empty the drains. The excitement in her voice this afternoon when the one has reduced significantly, showed me just how passionate she is about her profession. Truly lucky to have such great
    friends, who also happen to be nurses.

    Janine, you’re truly amazing. You carried those uncomfortable, heavy expanders for the last 6 months – with very few complaints – your dignity, grace and strength are remarkable. This evening too, when you tell me you “feel funny” when you’re already half way through the house but refuse my help and are determined to sort yourself out… You’re awesome, I know I would just crawl into bed and spend weeks feeling sorry for myself (everyone remembers my tonsillectomy) but you rise to the occasion and take the challenge head on, time and time again. I’d be honored to have your “stress balls” on my desk and if I were recruiting soldiers, you’d be my first recruit – with you on my team, we’d be “the winners”. Keep on fighting the fight. Love you more than you will ever know. xxx

    “True friendship isn’t about only being there when it’s convenient, its about being there when it’s not.”
    – Anon –

    “Courage is the most important of all the virtues because without courage, you can’t practice any other virtue consistently.”
    -Maya Angelou –

    “I love you. I am who I am because of you. You are every reason, every hope, and every dream I’ve ever had, and no matter what happens to us in the future, everyday we are together is the greatest day of my life. I will always be yours. ”
    – Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook –

    Like

Leave a Reply

