Easter Showers

Today is a week since my C-cup surgery and other than a few twinges, a sore back from being unable to sleep on my side and constantly being reminded I need to take it easy, I’m physically feeling pretty strong.

We had an amazing Easter weekend and still managed to host 2 annual Easter egg hunts. The first was Pete’s, apparently being out of hospital for only 4 days is not an excuse to forfeit his hunt for chocolate (giving up chocolate for lent may have been the true motivation!). Thankfully Sally was here to help me hide eggs, and more importantly, to remember where they were hidden!

Image

The second was for the McLuckie kids, not sure who enjoys these more, me or the kids! This year they had puzzles, word searches, handstands and cartwheels to do before being allowed their egg-ey rewards! (disclaimer: no kids were harmed during the making of this Easter egg hunt).

Image

I had my drains removed on Saturday which made me feel 99.9% better immediately!

Pete also gave me my first haircut!!! My post chemo head fluff has been growing really well, the only problem is that it’s just that…. fluff. Cute on a 4 month old baby, but not so much on a 40 something year old! So on Sunday evening, using the number 4 hair cutting attachment, the fluff came off.

Image

My eyebrow and lashes are growing very nicely now too. Sadly over the last few weeks I lost most of what I had been left with after chemo. Now I have what looks like a 5 o’clock shadows on my brow area and tiny lashes on top and bottom lids! Last Sunday at the beach I noticed the tiny growth on my brows and by the excitement it generated you would think I had won the lotto…again!

Things would be even more ideal if I could have a bath or just a shower!

I had a mole removed from my nether regions while in surgery – it’s amazing when you lose ALL your hair what interesting things you find ;). But until I have my dressings changed and a few stitches removed there’s no playing in the water for me!

So this morning while having my basin wash and looking at my poor swollen, bruised, battered, dressing covered and semi hair growing self…. I had to remind myself to keep looking forward, another box has been ticked!

 

“Some days there won’t be a song in your heart. Sing anyway.” ~Emory Austin

“Oh, my friend, it’s not what they take away from you that counts — it’s what you do with what you have left.” ~Hubert Humphrey

“I don’t think of all the misery but of the beauty that still remains.” ~Anne Frank

2 thoughts on “Easter Showers

  1. Thank you for my Easter egg hunt, you’re truly amazing that you were able to do all of that a few days post surgery. Another box can be ticked, and we get to pass begin again and move on to the next step. Its been a journey, its not over yet but we’re making progress in the right direction – stay as strong as you are. xxx

    “Sometimes, reaching out and taking someone’s hand is the beginning of a journey.
    At other times, it is allowing another to take yours.”
    – V Nazarian –

    “Here’s to all the people who get back up more times than they are knocked down, who give more than ever expect to receive, who still show love to others, even when their own heart is broken. Those who smile through the sad times, who light the way for others, who spread laughter and joy. Thank you for making the world a better place.”
    – Anon –

    Like

Leave a Reply

