Making a mark

This has been a week of making marks…

Yesterday I, and (hopefully) the rest of South Africa, stood in queues to cast our votes in our country’s general election. Significant for many reasons but mostly due to the fact that this marked the 20th year anniversary that I, and the majority of our population, became eligible to vote for the very first time. WHAT????? Did I just say that was 20 years ago? That cannot possibly be… **as I count on my fingers and toes**

I didn’t even have to pull the “I’m a Cancer patient” card to move up the queue 🙂 Pete and I arrived at our designated voting station just after 7am and were back home drinking tea by 7:30am!

Talking about making marks, I have also had a bit of a tummy bug this week. And I guess like most of people where cancer has touched their lives, it’s not ever simply a tummy bug, a pulled muscle, a cough… it’s always the fear that the cancer has come back. So I guess that makes a very real mark on your psyche (c’mon what kind of mark did you think I meant) ***tut tut***.

So Monday is my radiation plotting scan… I have been informed by people in the know that this will include permanent tattoo markings made on my chest so that the machines can be lined up correctly. Apparently despite any personal preferences, this is non negotiable! I mean REALLY, have they not heard of permanent markers? Especially the stuff the election officials use to mark your thumbs with when you go off to vote. I mean have you tried to get that stuff off? I think that’s what the majority of South Africans are doing right now, scrubbing….

Image

 

“Making your mark on the world is hard. If it were easy, everybody would do it. But it’s not. It takes patience, it takes commitment, and it comes with plenty of failure along the way. The real test is not whether you avoid this failure, because you won’t. it’s whether you let it harden or shame you into inaction, or whether you learn from it; whether you choose to persevere.” Barack Obama

“We only live once, but once is enough if we do it right. Live your life with class, dignity, and style so that an exclamation, rather than a question mark signifies it!” Gary Ryan Blair
“Each Warrior wants to leave the mark of his will, his signature, on important acts he touches. This is not the voice of ego but of the human spirit, rising up and declaring that it has something to contribute to the solution of the hardest problems, no matter how vexing!” Pat Riley
“The greater danger for most of us lies not in setting our aim too high and falling short; but in setting our aim too low, and achieving our mark.” Michelangelo
“There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are the messengers of overwhelming grief, of deep contrition, and of unspeakable love.” Washington Irving

2 thoughts on “Making a mark

  1. Each step is a milestone, and each new one seems like a mountain… I know you don’t want the tattoo markings, and its ironic that you can have ink that stains your fingers and nails for weeks but they haven’t developed something that’ll remain on your skin for that long. Its another battle scar, and you’ve already had to have so many, but its also a reminder that you’re fighting this disease with your strongest armour and you’re doing a fantastic job…
    xxx

    “You are not what you have done, but what you have overcome. All the hardships. All the mistakes. All the rejections. All the pain. All the times you questioned why. All of these things have given birth to the wisdom and strength that will help you shine your light on the world, even in the darkest of hours.”
    – Ritu Ghatourey –

    “You see, in every story, it’s not about the ending. It’s about the chapters in between and how you make it through them, but we all know how important it is to get through them in order to et to see how it ends. While you’re going through them, it might be scary, terrifying actually, but you’ll learn so much about yourself at the end of each one.”
    ― Courtney Giardina – (Tear Stained Beaches)

    Like

    • I know that you are usually very indulgent of my “freak outs” and I know you will support my decisions whether you agree with them or not – one of the many things I love about you and what I’m so grateful for. I’m not even sure why I feel so angry about this considering everything else. But thank you for always listening to me even when the things I say may not always be particularly rational! As always I love your quotes xxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

