War Cries

I have a radiation mantra which I repeat over and over (to myself) daily while lying under the mercy of the radiation gun ray machine. A few words which keep me focused, a reminder on a loop of why I’m putting my body through this. It helps keep the anxiety at bay but mostly it just keeps my mind active and not fixated on my itchy nose, ear, cheek, chin, head, toe, spleen or any other conceivable body part….

It happens every time I am in my radiation-ready position: arms above my head, tattoos lined up, lazer lights on and just as the therapist has uttered the fateful words, “OK don’t move.”
And I mean EVERY TIME – without fail!!!

I now also have a radiation CD courtesy of Pete aptly named “Radiation Rock”! 🙂

So his morning as I drove to the bunker and started the usual search for parking, I had my music cranked up and I may or may not have been singing along with great gusto (and totally tunelessly)! But I found a fantastic parking spot! Coincidence??? I think not!

Every soldier needs a battle cry.
Anthems heralding their arrival on the battlefield.  How could a parking spot NOT open for me??? I confess,there may have been casualties – a startled car guard or two!

For me, songs are merely quotes set to music.

I love my CD of quotes, thanks Pete!

 

“Whoa, oh, oh, oh, oh, whoa, oh, oh, oh, I’m radioactive, radioactive”

Imagine Dragons (from Radioactive) 😉

 

“Everybody’s been there,
Everybody’s been stared down by the enemy
Fallen for the fear
And done some disappearing,
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, just stop holding your tongue

Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out, Honestly I wanna see you be brave”

Sara Bareilles (from Brave)***I LOVE LOVE this song

 

“Pretty, pretty please
Don’t you ever, ever feel
Like you’re less than
F***ing perfect
Pretty, pretty please
If you ever, ever feel
Like you’re nothing
You’re f**ing perfect to me”

Pink (from Perfect) ** the unedited version- the only version for singing loudly in a car but only when you are on your own!

 

“Now I’m floating like a butterfly
Stinging like a bee I earned my stripes
I went from zero, to my own hero
I got the eye of the tiger, a fighter, dancing through the fire
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar
Louder, louder than a lion
‘Cause I am a champion and you’re gonna hear me roar”

Katy Perry (from Roar) **I know you’re tapping your foot to this one!)

 

“Challenges do not define us
We are shaped by how we carry on
This is our opportunity
To decide the kind of women we want to become
And so, it is with great gratitude
And the strength of humility
We transform pain into victory
By digging our roots deep”

Jewel (from Flower) ***This is an amazing song – check it out

 

“I’ll hold my head high
I’ll never let this define
The light in my eyes
Love myself, give it hell
I’ll take on this world
Yes, I’ll stand and be strong
No I’ll never give up
I will conquer with love
And I’ll fight like a girl

Oh, with style and grace
Kick ass and take names”

Bomshel (from Fight Like A Girl) ***I love these words and a really catchy tune

 

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger
Stand a little taller
Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone
What doesn’t kill you makes a fighter
Footsteps even lighter
Doesn’t mean I’m over cause you’re gone”

Kelly Clarkson (from Stronger) ***Another song that needs to be sung VERY VERY loudly!

 

“Sometimes the system goes on the blink
And the whole thing it turns out wrong
You might not make it back and you know
That you could be well oh that strong
And I’m not wrong
Cause you had a bad day, you’re taking one down
You sing a sad song just to turn it around
You say you don’t know, you tell me don’t lie
You work on a smile and you go for a ride…”

Daniel Powter (from Bad Day) ***For the bad days….

 

“Better stand tall when they’re calling you out
Don’t bend, don’t break, baby, don’t back down

It’s my life
And it’s now or never
‘Cause I ain’t gonna live forever
I just want to live while I’m alive
(It’s my life)
My heart is like an open highway
Like Frankie said
I did it my way
I just want to live while I’m alive”

Bon Jovi (from It’s My Life) ***punching your fist in the air kind of song, gotta love Bon Jovi!

 

“But when the night is falling
You cannot find a friend, friend
You feel your tree is breaking
Just bend
You’ve got the music in you
Don’t let go
You’ve got the music in you
One dance left
This world is gonna pull through
Don’t give up
You’ve got a reason to live
Can’t forget
We only get what we give”

New Radicals (from You Get What You Give)*** I don’t know a more catchy tune – even if you don’t have a clue what the words are!

 

“But if you never try you’ll never know
Just what you’re worth

Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

Tears stream down your face
When you lose something you cannot replace
Tears stream down your face
And I… “

ColdPlay (from Fix You) **** awwww

 

“Don’t say that later will be better
Now you’re stuck in a moment
And you can’t get out of it
And if the night runs over
And if the day won’t last
And if your way should falter
Along on this stony pass
It’s just a moment

This time will pass”

U2 (from Stuck In A Moment) ***I mean, it’s U2!!!

 

“Workin’ hard to get my fill
Everybody wants a thrill
Payin’ anything to roll the dice
Just one more time
Some will win
Some will lose
Some were born to sing the blues
Oh, the movie never ends
It goes on and on and on and on

Don’t stop believin’
Hold on to that feelin’
Streetlight people
Don’t stop believin’
Hold on
Streetlight people
Don’t stop believin’
Hold on to that feelin’
Streetlight people”

Glee Cast (From Don’t Stop Believing) ***Don’t pretend, I know you love this song!

 

“Do you ever feel like a plastic bag
Drifting through the wind, wanting to start again?
Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin
Like a house of cards, one blow from caving in?

Do you ever feel already buried deep six feet under?
Screams but no one seems to hear a thing
Do you know that there’s still a chance for you
‘Cause there’s a spark in you?

You just gotta ignite the light and let it shine”

Katy Perry (from Firework) ***Had to chuck another Katy Perry song in there cos I’m such a Pop Fan!

 

“Cause we are, we are shining stars
We are invincible, we are who we are
On our darkest days
When we’re miles away
Sun will come
We will find our way home

If you’re lost and alone
Or you’re sinking like a stone
Carry on
May your past be the sound
Of your feet upon the ground
Carry on…”

FUN (from Carry On)  ***Cool CD huh?

2 thoughts on “War Cries

  1. “When I see your face
    There’s not a thing that I would change
    Cause you’re amazing
    Just the way you are
    And when you smile,
    The whole world stops and stares for awhile
    Cause girl you’re amazing
    Just the way you are”
    – Bruno Mars – “Just The Way You Are ”

    Half way through radiation today… 12 more sessions to go, can’t wait!
    xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

