I’m Freeeee!

SO like yesterday was my like last radiation session – no big deal or anything, I took it in my stride…

ARE YOU KIDDING! Of course it was a HUGE deal! If my arm would actually hold my weight and if I wasn’t so concerned that my poor boiled skin wouldn’t rip in two, I would be doing flick flacks in the garden right now!

OK who am I trying to kid – I’ve NEVER been able to do a flick flack –
EVER!

The air in the Radiation bunker was “electric”…with so much excitement “radiating” from the 5 of us finishing our treatment ****see what I did there, huh huh?****

Even one of the radiation therapists said it felt like a carnival atmosphere! I bought non-microwaveable 😉 goodies for tea and my now signature pink ribbons for all the ladies who have been keeping me safe (or as safe as they possibly can) under the watchful eye of the radiation-ray-gun machine!

There were hugs all around and I left with the parting words….. “Please don’t take this personally, but I hope to never see you again”. They laughed and didn’t look particularly offended, I guess they get that quite often…

So after 25 treatments and going into my 6th week of travelling to that bunker EVERY week day, (give or take machine breakdowns and a public holiday) – PINGGGGGG – cue the microwave beep –
I am DONE!

I saw the Dent Doctor for my weekly check up and he is happy with how the treatment has gone – he’s a little concerned about that patch of skin under my armpit and says it may still break down, which means it may peel off and cause a sore, and if that happens I need to apply gention violent. So if anyone sees someone wondering around in the next few weeks with a purple armpit – please wave, it’s probably me!

The bestest news ever is that my biggest treatments are all done! We are still in negotiations regarding the next phase of hormone blockers. He’s done research, I’m doing research. We may just agree to disagree.

I see him again in 6 weeks time so by then I need to have a protocol ready I am comfortable to follow.
BUT FOR NOW, another HUGE milestone has been reached!

Green aliens

“Ultimately we know deeply that the other side of every fear is a freedom.”

– Marilyn Ferguson

 

“Cancer didn’t bring me to my knees, it brought me to my feet.”
~Michael Douglas

 

My cancer scare changed my life. I’m grateful for every new, healthy day I have. It has helped me prioritize my life. ~Olivia Newton-John

 

When the Japanese mend broken objects, they aggrandize the damage by filling the cracks with gold. They believe that when something’s suffered damage and has a history it becomes more beautiful. ~Barbara Bloom

 

The greatest mistake in the treatment of diseases is that there are physicians for the body and physicians for the soul, although the two cannot be separated. ~Plato

 

Hope is that thing with feathers that perches in the soul and sings the tune without the words and never stops… at all. ~Emily Dickinson

 

2 thoughts on “I’m Freeeee!

  1. Hi Janine. I am a friend of Shaldean’s and have been following your journey in awe. Thank you for sharing your innermost thoughts, fears and triumphs with us. May your journey continue to be filled with blessings! Jenny Pereira

    Like

Leave a Reply

