Fuzzy brains and Spell check

Pete has been making some subtle and very recently, some not so subtle inferences about my radiation brain. A phenomenon he now insists is worse than chemo brain.

So maybe now and then I forget a few things…..like where I park my car at the mall; where I put my glasses (every night); where I may have put my car keys, my house keys, the water bottle I had been drinking from less than 5 minutes before, my glasses (ok so maybe it doesn’t only happen at night!).  I start sentences which I cannot complete because I can’t remember what I was about to say…….and on more than one occasion I have been known to ask the same question over and over again – even after it had been answered!

Pete has now developed “a look” which is his way of letting me know that it may not have been the first time we have had that particular discussion!

OK I fully admit it…… my short term memory is shot!

Thank goodness my long term memory is still intact!   Or so I thought until earlier this week…….

For the last 2 months I have been helping out as a classroom assistant for two grade 2’s.  Generally just keeping them focused in the classroom and help them with their reading.

And surely even me, and my fuzzy brain can handle Grade 2 work.

Weeeell……. maybe not……

So there we were on Wednesday, learning our alphabet, “A” is for apple….”B” is for bat etc. Well certainly not this lot!  “A” is for antelope, “B” is for Brontosaurus, “I” is for Iguana….!  I was very proud of holding my own whilst having questions continually thrown at me on how to spell some common and some not so common animals.  After being asked the spelling of a particular marine mammal, I wrote it down confidently in one of their dictionaries.  I was trying to encourage them to look the words up on their own.  I was just explaining this to them when a little voice chirped from across the table, “but doesn’t that have a “p” and a “h” in it”?  I smiled at him gently (and rather condescendingly) and was about to explain that NO it definitely did NOT, when I glanced down at the word I had just written and went completely cold and totally blank.  I distracted him while surreptitiously googling it on my Blackberry

And who would have thought……he was 100% correct, apparently you don’t spell it “D-O-L-F-I-N ***slaps head***

Smarty Pants – what’s he doing in the remedial reading class anyway….!!!

dolphin

Yesterday I had an appointment with Megan, and after that episode, it couldn’t have come at a better time…..  One of her first questions to me was whether my brain felt fuzzy after radiation?!!!

So now I’ve been put on another detox.  She says it’s to help my poor stressed liver but I know it’s to help my poor fuzzy brain …before I do damage to myself or any young minds!

 

“It is a damn poor mind that can think of only one way to spell a word.”  Andrew Jackson

 

“A synonym is a word you use when you can’t spell the other one.”  Baltasar Gracian

 

“I don’t see any use in having a uniform and arbitrary way of spelling words. We might as well make all clothes alike and cook all dishes alike. Sameness is tiresome; variety is pleasing.”     Mark Twain

 

“She knows that it’s not my fault if I don’t know how many Zs there are in LOSER.” Lauren Child

 

“Plagiarism is illegal, mispeeling iz knot.”  Toni (U.A.C.)

2 thoughts on “Fuzzy brains and Spell check

  1. Chemo brain has nothing on radiation brain… I still can’t get past the “fin” 🙂
    Even though at times, I’m a little irritated to have the same question asked repeatedly I’m reminded every day of just how lucky I am to have you. You put up a brave fight and tackled every hurdle, a little bit of a fuzzy brain is excusable for now. xxx

    “Did you ever stop to think, and forget to start again?”
    “Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best — ” and then he had to stop and think. Because although eating honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.”
    – A. A. Milne –

    “The advantage of a bad memory is that one enjoys several times the same good things for the first time.”
    – Friedrich Nietzsche –

    Like

  2. I’m gateful beyond words that we can still find humour in our situation – even if most of it is directed at me 🙂
    I know that living with me and my fuzzy excuse for a brain can be rather frustrating at times – but thank you for not running away 😉 xxx

    “If you can spell “Nietzsche” without Google, you deserve a cookie.” ― Lauren Leto

    Like

Leave a Reply

