Hormones and Impossible choices

Eish it’s Day 4 of my 7 day detox juicing plan – apparently from today it starts getting easier so I’m waiting in anticipation for the hunger pains and the craving of just being able to chew on something, to go away.

Pete has been in Joburg most of this week so thankfully I have not had to cook for him, cos I think (or rather I DO know) I wouldn’t have made it past day one!  (I think he was just as thankful!)

My brain doesn’t feel less fuzzy as yet, so here’s hoping the miracle happens on days 5-7!

Other than chatting to Megan last week about my toxic liver, fuzzy brain and the eating plan I will be starting after these 7 days of torture, I mean detox – no I REALLY mean TORTURE; we also discussed the next phase of my Oncology treatment – the HORMONE BLOCKERS………

She introduced the topic on my very first visit to her. As in, had I heard of a natural product which had been shown to be very effective and even out-performed the Oncology drug of choice, Tamoxifen, in blocking the “bad” hormones without the “bad” side effects.

UMMM NO, what’s Tamoxifen and what bad side effects??? Ok I can be forgiven, I was still having chemo at that stage and most of my energy was spent on getting through one treatment at a time – I certainly was not thinking about the 5 years of drugs I was due to start at the end of radiation!

I began doing my own Google research and like ALL my other research, it was completely frightening! However, in my limited access to medical research, the natural product certainly appeared to outweigh the Tamoxifen option – hands down.

B U T (and unfortunately there IS always at least one!) the natural product (I3C) has not been subjected to extensive (expensive) medical trials and therefore does not have the research to back it up – unlike Tamoxifen. And this was exactly the concern the Dent Doctor had after I first broached the subject with him – he had never even heard of it…

Now don’t get me wrong, there are thousands of women out there successfully taking Tamoxifen for hormone positive breast cancer. The drug has been around since the 70’s and has contributed significantly to the survival of many woman (and men) with this type of cancer.

So WHY you may ask, I’m even having this debate……….for goodness sake take the damn pills!

B U T when the first line of the Patient Drug Information (package insert) reads: “This drug may raise the chance of very bad and sometimes deadly side effects like stroke, blood clots, or endometrial or uterine cancer” it does make you take a moment to stop and think.

The non-severe side effects include: Hot flashes and other menopausal symptoms (because that’s what it puts you into – menopause); back, bone, muscle and or joint pain, dizziness, insomnia; weight gain; vaginal discharge; depression; constipation; cataracts; …. You get the picture.

Although as the Dent Doctor also pointed out, if you read the package insert of PANADO you may also think twice about taking it! And that I actually had to weigh up the risks associated with NOT taking the drug – recurrence VS “possible” serious side effects….

My other concern was a practical one, would our Medical Aid pay for any further treatment if I elected to not take the Tamoxifen and the cancer came back. The Dent Doctor just smiled and said that he certainly would fight that if it happened as there is no guarantee the cancer wouldn’t come back even after taking the Tamoxifen….

So realistically how on earth are you supposed to make these impossible choices when there are absolutely NO guarantees, and when making the “wrong” decision for YOU can be literally a matter of life or death?

Truthfully? After all these months of constant debate I still have NO IDEA!

I guess you just make the best decision you can with the information you have at hand, with the support of those you love – AND then pretty much hope for the best…..

 Hormones 4

Hormones

Hormones 5

hormones 3

Hormone 4

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.” Shel Silverstein

“It is hard to imagine a more stupid or more dangerous way of making decisions than by putting those decisions in the hands of people who pay no price for being wrong”. Thomas Sowell

“A lot of people don’t want to make their own decisions. They’re too scared. It’s much easier to be told what to do”. Marilyn Manson

“Estrogen deficient woman are nothing but the walking dead.” ― Marie Hoag MBA

One thought on “Hormones and Impossible choices

  1. More tough calls as if you haven’t had to make enough of them already! Just remember, I will support you whatever you decide. You’ve already been through so much and regardless of what happens there are no guarantees in life. So hang in there, look forward – you’ll get through the juicing – and we’ll keep on celebrating the small things and making every moment count. xxx

    “I have the green juice, which is like drinking a really delicious lawn”
    – Anon –

    “I AM ENOUGH. I am full of sparkle and compassion. I genuinely want to make the world a better place. I love hard. I practice kindness. I’m not afraid of the truth. I am loyal, adventurous, supportive, and surprising. I am a woman. I am enough. I make mistakes, but I own them and learn from them. Sometimes I make a bunch of mistakes. ”
    – Molly Mahar –

    “Taking time out each day to relax and renew is essential to living well.”
    – Judith Hanson Lasater –

    Like

Leave a Reply

