The Cape, Park runs and battles

Today I’m typing away at 3300ft above the ground hurtling back towards home at 900km / hour.

Pete and I have had the most amazing few days in our beloved Cape Town. Out of all the travels I have been lucky enough to experience, CT is definitely one of my favourites! No passports, no visas, no holiday days wasted in a plane to get there and believe me the less time I spend in a plane the better! I am what you may call, not-a-good-flyer and by the look of Pete’s red hand and the embedded nail marks, he may possibly agree!

We stayed in Fish Hoek, a beautiful seaside village, overlooking the sea! Total bliss…. and you know how I feel about the sea.

View from our Fish Hoek home

View from our Fish Hoek home

The days consisted of beach walks, numerous scenic drives, a trip to a spa for a massage, afternoon high tea at the Mount Nelson Hotel (a definite MUST if you find yourself in the Mother City), G’s & T’s or rather G’s and Dry Lemon on our balcony and loads of scrummy food (think I will be avoiding Megan for a VERY long while!

Me and Table Mountain

Me and Table Mountain

Pete at Kirstenbosch gardens

Pete at Kirstenbosch gardens

To be fair we tried to balance it all out with lots of walking and also did our first Park run outside our own hood! Fortunately those 5kms made up for all the bad things we ate………….. NOT!!!!

Fish Hoek Park run was rather scenic, neither of us managed a PB, despite the flat course – I blame the single track in parts, certainly not the extra kgs from the delicious food the day before and certainly not the stoppages for photo ops and scenery appreciation!

Cape Park Run1

I think the most unforgettable thing about it though, was the conversation I overheard while coming into the home straight, or rather home curve via a wooden bridge and over a few mini sand dunes (more like speed bumps) and to the left of the most stunning clump of wild flowers…..anyway, as I was hurtling past a startled pair of tweens – I like to think it was due to my powerful speed walking gait, but realistically it was probably the wheezing and bright red face courtesy of a badly timed hot flush and the 4 and 3/4 km I had just completed…

***OK the captain has cued the seat belt fastening sign due to some turbulence ahead, which is also my cue to reinforce those nail marks in Pete’s right hand……..excuse me for a moment….!***

AND I’m back! Don’t you hate it when there’s always that one passenger that screams………?

Ok so where was I…. oh yes……so there we were, me the wheezing red glowing beacon and the two tweens…. the girl tween says to the boy tween, “oh my gosh look at my Dad, he’s running” to which the boy tween responds dryly as only a boy tween can do, ” duh isn’t that what hez suppozed to do – isn’t your dad like a serious runner or sumthing”. I must say my first thought was: duh dude clearly he’s not a great runner if he was only slightly ahead of me, a walker, in the bottom end of the field! But at the same time, somewhere way in the back of my mind, I was a bit confused by the awe and something very close to pride in her voice. CLEARLY the poor chap was a reformed couch potato on his journey to complete his first ever run – Ag shame man how sweet is that I thought – in a tone only a veteran of 8 park runs could muster.

Once again my focus returned to the path in front of me as I wondered where the heck this course finished – I very nearly missed the next part of the conversation…..

Tween Girl: “yes, but you don’t understand, he had a bad fall and shattered his knee, he didn’t think he could ever run again”.

Oh wow….did I feel reprimanded for my rather condescending thoughts!

Immediately I was reminded of how easily and how quickly assumptions about others are made. So often ready to accept our first impressions without ever really bothering to stop and check our own prejudices let alone the facts before cementing them as truths and moving on. Definitely without ever having even a clue as to what battles are being fought, won or lost daily.

I must say after that little lesson on appreciation, I finished my 5k’s with a smile on my bright red face!

Pete and I thought we would like to start our own Park run bucket list challenge….. to do as many different Park Runs as we can manage locally and hopefully internationally, at some point. So we shall be saving our pennies for the next trip…..

Cape Beach
“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” Plato
“Your battles inspired me – not the obvious material battles but those that were fought and won behind your forehead.”
― James Joyce
“You don’t win battles with hate. Anger and hate can make you brave, make you strong, but they also make you stupid. You end up tripping over your own two feet.” (Hadrian)”

“The battle you are going through is not fuelled by the words or actions of others; it is fuelled by the mind that gives it importance.”
― Shannon L. Alder

“The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever.” Jacques Yves Cousteau

One thought on “The Cape, Park runs and battles

  1. It was such a fantastic break – and a constant reminder that things this year are WAY better than they were this time last year. Thank you for a great holiday – time away in a place like the Cape works wonders at restoring the soul. xxx

    ” The sand may brush off,
    The salt may wash clean.
    The tans may fade,
    But the memories will last forever”
    – Anon –

    “A smooth sea never made a skilful sailor.”
    – Anon –

    ” That’s the thing about running/walking: your greatest runs are rarely measured by racing success. They are moments in time when running allows you to see how wonderful your life is.”
    – Kara Goucher –

    Like

Leave a Reply

