Happy Birthdays….

My blog officially turned 1 year old this week!

Not sure if that’s something that gets celebrated in the Blogsphere or wherever, but I believe it definitely deserves a mention!

So on that celebratory note, I thought I would give a bit of a history lesson of how it all began……*as I put on my very best teacher’s voice and straighten my glasses*

Once upon a time there was a little pink notebook…..

"THE Pink notebook

“THE Pink notebook

Seriously, there really was! Pete came home from work one day, just before my surgery, with two blank notebooks, one for himself and one for me… He wanted us to be able to “tell” each other how we were feeling while negotiating our way along the very slippery path we found ourselves hurtling down. Especially on the very slippery days when words were impossible to speak out aloud. We both shared a love of quotes, so it was also meant as a place where we could write those down too when we found just the right one we wanted to share; or when even the written words failed.

Card

I started the blog to make sure I stuck to that promise.

I found writing things in that little pink book was all good and well, but it was easy to manipulate, easy to not have to formulate clear thoughts and extremely easy to find excuses NOT to write stuff down!

So many things were happening to us on a daily basis which we found overwhelming, frightening, confusing and often really very funny. Writing these experiences down helped me take all the noisy chaos in my head, un-scramble it and then put it back together again in some “sensible” form or another It also made me accountable for my feelings and how those feelings affected those around me. And no matter the situation there was always an observation, a lesson or some kind of humourous story which I felt compelled to share without necessarily frightening anyone by picking up the phone and saying “you know a funny thing happened to me on the way to the cancer centre this morning…….”

I remember waking up that morning in the beginning of October just knowing that I wanted to write a blog. The thought seemed to come from no-where in particular – I certainly had never followed a blog or even read a real blog. I most certainly had no idea of even where or how to begin! Thank goodness for Google! I did some very quick research and was amazed to find that there was more than one blog platform (who would have thought!!!)! I finally settled on a site and went about setting it up all on my own – even Pete was impressed – although he did have to tweek some of the actual settings a little (a lot) for me.

My very first blog post was originally adapted from a rambled entry written in my little pink book on Pete’s birthday, one year ago.

And the rest, as they say, is blog history!

It has helped keep me sane and grounded. Made sure I didn’t stick my head too firmly in the sand or wallow in self pity for too long, it has kept me sane and allowed me to work through all sorts of decisions and turmoil and has kept me sane. Did I mention that it has kept me sane?

And it has done exactly what my little pink book set out to do: kept the lines of often difficult communication, wide open.

I love the quotes I get from friends and total strangers, words of encouragement and a sense of real pride and often total bewilderment when I bump into someone who says “ I read your blog and …………”

What I have loved the most is being able to write my posts in less than ideal situations: as I lay in bed recovering from surgery or the after effects of chemo, or sitting with drips in my arm on lazy boy chairs or whilst waiting for doctors or results or appointments with the radiation ray gun machine………

And for days like today where I find myself sitting drinking my bottle of orange dye nervously awaiting to go in for my annual CT scan….

CT Juice

Slippery quote

“My blog is a collection of answers people don’t want to hear to questions they didn’t ask.”
Sebastyne Young

“Writing is the only way I have to explain my own life to myself.”
Pat Conroy

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthdays….

  1. Hi Janine
    Love these quotes! As you know I have waited with bated breath for your blogs and have laughed, cried and had lots of other thoughts in between and told everyone I know to read your blog. It has been an amazing journey and I wait, yet again, with bated breath for your results. You are such a talented lady. Love you xxxx

    Like

  2. Hi Janine we have never met but I think you’re amazing and have followed your journey from the outset through your blogs and updates from Pete when I still worked for Bsi. No-one knows what life will throw at us next but you have handled what you have gone through with dignity and courage and a good dose of humor and I applaud you for it and look forward to keeping up to date (through your blogs) with the rest of your journey. Hang in there and keep sharing your experiences in your own inimitable and fabulously entertaining style! Lots of love Belinda x

    Like

  3. Hi Belinda, it’s nice to “meet” you! I appreciate you taking the time to read my blog, and wow, thank you so much for your very kind words! Please keep in touch, and let us know how you are doing. Thank you again for all your support. Take care, Janine

    Like

  4. Your blog lasted a lot longer than my red keep calm note book – I had to look for it and the last time I wrote in it was in December… Doesn’t feel like your blog is only a year old, its become part of our lives and kept a record of some of the most trying times we’ve experienced.

    Just yesterday we were reminded again that its providing support for people we don’t even know, so it not just therapy for us. Keep blogging, you’re fantastic at it – you have a way with words, you bring humour to some of the most stressful situations and people feel like they can identify with you and your journey.

    “Our wounds are often the openings into the best and most beautiful part of us.”
    – David Richo –

    “Writing is a form of therapy; sometimes I wonder how all those who do not write, compose, or paint can manage to escape the madness, melancholia, the panic and fear which is inherent in a human situation.”
    – Graham Greene –

    “I finished the [blog] post reflecting on the fact that, despite all the changes in my life, maybe I wasn’t so different after all. If I typed it, maybe I could believe it, too.”
    – Stephanie Nielson –

    Like

Leave a Reply

