Reality checks and Elephants!

So, yesterday was the day of my third, three month check-up with the Dent Doc.

So, absolutely nothing to feel nervous about as I woke up and headed to the cancer centre?

Check!

….well ….no, NO I really have nothing to worry about…. I am good…….well, what about that bump in my right armpit.…but that’s just muscular thing……but what if…….no, don’t be silly the Dent Doc said it was just a muscle contraction at the last visit……yes, you’re absolutely right………..but what about the pain in my ankle ……well, that’s still the effects of all the walking in Malaysia…..yes, yes, nothing to be concerned about……..but would I still be feeling it a month later……honestly, stop panicking, you are absolutely fine……but what happens if something shows up on the bloods …….. oh my word, don’t be a negative Nellie……….but, I have been feeling a little fluey for a while……jeez Louise, get a grip……!

Standard minor panic attack on the way to the Cancer Centre?

Check!

Did I manage the blood tests the day before?

Check!

It never even crossed my mind that they would even have to think of taking blood from my foot. In fact I was so confident about that, that while showering I planned my outfit for a chilly PMB morning to include a pair of zip up boots! Just to show exactly who was BOSS, and that at this stage of the game, I had NO FEAR!

Did I feel great walking out of the house in my nice shiny boots?

Check!

UMMM, well……on second thoughts it looked like it was going to be quite a warm day after all ….and I really didn’t want to feel all sweaty in my boots for the hour or so I would be out…so it really made so much more sense for me to wear slip-on’s ….. but ONLY because I didn’t want to feel too uncomfortable later on you know……

Fortunately it helped being totally unwavering in my confidence – my veins behaved beautifully! Three vials later, I was outta there!

So yesterday there we were, Pete and I back at the Dent Docs office. He asked us about our holiday and as he had also spent some time in Singapore and Penang we had a lot to chat about!  Inevitably he addressed the elephant in the room and asked me how I was doing? To which the elephant in the room replied rather confidently, “fine, I’m doing fine” and then had to completely ruin it by adding a squeaky …. “I think”?

I asked him if chemo could have seriously affected my thyroid (not only because my boob was heading there) but because I really am battling with weight issues * I did mention the elephant in the room didn’t I, OH so you thought I was being metaphorical?! *

I told him laughingly, that I was turning into my granny, he tried to muffled a grin and replied, yes, probably! He explained that when a woman hit menopause her fat distribution in her body changed, which for most women meant increased fat deposits around hips and tummy – yip, check… and CHECK!……….But don’t forget the bat wings, and the bottom a Kardashian could be proud of, I thought to myself ***slaps head***

He said it definitely would be worth having a blood test to check out my thyroid function but that I was pretty classically at least peri-menopausal at this stage so perhaps we should do the blood tests for those realities too. And while we were dealing with my granny issues we should throw in a bone density scan for good measure!

SO once he had all those results we could then think about my future treatment plan which would possibly include regular gynae appointments to keep an eye on possible osteoporosis issues and maybe even consider low levels of HRT especially considering my age…..***scream face*** He must have noticed my scream face: HRT is considered a swear word when discussing someone with hormone positive breast cancer!

He added rather seriously, that it would be a great pity for me to have survived breast cancer only to be crippled by osteoporosis!

Yes… I guess that would be a great pity indeed ***gulp***

So other than those scary realities he confirmed that my bloods were looking good, and after a thorough examination, he congratulated me for doing really, really well. And that my next check-up, in three months time, would officially take me to two years post diagnosis (the first two being a very risky period for recurrence).

He could hardly believe that it was two years already! AND I could hardly believe it when he added that this would mean that I only needed to see him every 6 months after that ….

Did I know this day was coming?

Check!

BUT I couldn’t help myself… I just blurted out that I didn’t think I was ready for that!

To his credit, he obviously gets that reaction quite often, because he just smiled and told me I could keep my three month appointments if I wanted to, but that it really wasn’t necessary.

Eish?

Check!

Reality check1

“Never ignore the elephant in the room. That’s rude; play with it and introduce it.”
― Donna Lynn Hope

A house needs a grandma in it.
— Louisa May Alcott

People are so difficult. Give me an elephant any day.
Mark Shand

When eating an elephant take one bite at a time.
Creighton Abrams

“Uncertainty is a temptress. We may try our best to avoid her. But what is certain is that at some point of time, she will find us. The only question that remains is whether like Medusa, she will paralyze you, or whether like one of the nine muses of ancient Greece, she will drive you to greater things.”
Richie Singh, Chasing Butterflies

I have a memory like an elephant. In fact, elephants often consult me.
Noel Coward

“We spend much of our lives going about completely blind to reality, and yet we still have the gall to act victimized when it invariably catches up to us.”
― Nenia Campbell

“All our emotions are real, but one has to be quite cautious with what supports their reality.”
― Aleksandra Ninkovic

Reality check 2

9 thoughts on “Reality checks and Elephants!

  1. Amazing how its like learning to walk, each milestone reached and another crutch is taken away. Can’t believe that we’re almost at that point where the checkups change to every 6 months… Seems like it was years ago when that thought was just a spec on the horizon and now we’re almost there. Everyone who has walked this road, will know just how that day before the checkup feels – it always brings back so much – lots of what we have trained our mind to forget – and that’s just for me (and all I do is tag along to provide moral support).

    Despite your “… I think” doubt which crept in the words from the Dent Doctor, “really, really well”, couldn’t have sounded better and made my week… Know there are other realities to consider, but those we will handle as they arise, one step at a time just as we have to get this far. So for now, think of just how fantastic those 3 small words are and how great it is to hear them. You’re still my beautiful, stunning wife and I love you XXX

    “Life’s better now. I wouldn’t do it all over again, though. It’s funny how life works. Maybe it was meant to happen for many reasons, because my life is in many ways richer.”
    – Giuliana Rancic –

    Like

  2. Amazing how its like learning to walk, each milestone reached and another crutch is taken away. Can’t believe that we’re almost at that point where the checkups change to every 6 months… Seems like it was years ago when that thought was just a spec on the horizon and now we’re almost there. Everyone who has walked this road, will know just how that day before the checkup feels – it always brings back so much – lots of what we have trained our mind to forget – and that’s just for me (and all I do is tag along to provide moral support).

    Despite your “… I think” doubt which crept in the words from the Dent Doctor, “really, really well”, couldn’t have sounded better and made my week… Know there are other realities to consider, but those we will handle as they arise, one step at a time just as we have to get this far. So for now, think of just how fantastic those 3 small words are and how great it is to hear them. You’re still my beautiful, stunning wife and I love you XXX

    “Life’s better now. I wouldn’t do it all over again, though. It’s funny how life works. Maybe it was meant to happen for many reasons, because my life is in many ways richer.”
    – Giuliana Rancic –

    Like

Leave a Reply

