Simply Grateful

So yesterday I was officially declared “cancer free” for the 3rd year in a row by the Dent Doctor.  ***smiley face, smiley face, smiley face, and then some more smiley faces***

And just like that, I have another significant cancerversary under my (ever increasing!) belt.

I have been inundated over the last two months with Facebook memories – aren’t they a wonderful invention – a big round of applause to the Facebook developers – some fun and not so fun trips down the memory highway!

Well, September and October brought a string of pics and posts about surgeries and chemo starts, and for most part they were quite a shock.  And not for the reasons you may think. I actually wasn’t (that) traumatised by the memories they invoked.  Nope.  Mostly, I was completely shocked by the fact that both Pete and I, had by some strange turn of events, forgotten the actual second, minute and even more bizarrely, the day of each one of those events.  Something I had previously assumed would be burnt into our psyches FOREVER!

So therefore yesterday’s routine 6th month check up to the Dent Doc should equally have been handled with exactly the same attention to detail.   (After all there wasn’t anything I was particularly concerned about). And it was, for the most part.  Right up until I went for my bloods on Tuesday, and until I went to sleep on Wednesday night, and until I walked into the cancer centre, and until I waited while he took an emergency call regarding a patient receiving palliative care, or while I waited for him to announce the results of his examination and my blood tests.  Yes, up until then, I was good…

And it was all good!  ***smiley face, smiley face and then some more smiley faces***

So this morning I woke up with a renewed understanding of one simple word….grateful.

grateful4grateful-2Grateful.jpggrateful3

4 thoughts on “Simply Grateful

  1. Simply the best news Janine. It brought such joy to my heart hearing this celebratory news but was surprised that it was 3 years already! Where did the time go!!! It’s a great day 😀

    Like

  2. We would never have imagined 3 years ago that our life would ever seem so normal again…
    I’m grateful for you – your fighting spirit, your wisdom, your compassion, your loving heart and even your forgetful mind… Never forget how special you are. Love you xxx

    “The more grateful you are, the more you get to be grateful about.” – L.Hay

    “It doesn’t matter if the glass is half full or half empty… Be grateful that you have a glass and there is something in it…” -Anon

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

